Thread: Hottie on the Ramp; Interview with model and upcoming actor "Rajeev Govinda Pillai"

Thanks

Default Hottie on the Ramp; Interview with model and upcoming actor "Rajeev Govinda Pillai"

GROWING up in the small town of Thiruvalla, Rajeev Pillai never thought he would walk the ramp at the Lakme Fashion Week one day, something which no Malayali born and brought up in Kerala has done before.

?To be in the same event as Sahil Shroff and Inder Baruah was a great experience and honour,? says the 26-year-old who was part of the recently concluded Lakme Fashion Week 2009 held at Mumbai.

A dentist by profession, Rajeev attributes his success mainly to his stint at the UK where he did his postgraduation in dentistry.

?Kerala is still nowhere near global standards when it comes to professional modelling and the grooming required for it,? he says. While in the UK, Rajeev, who had always been interested in modelling, got the chance to walk the ramp for big names like Tommy Hilfiger and reputed Asian brands.

Soon he carved a niche for himself in the industry. ?It is true that racial discrimination exists in the field,? he says. All the same, there was no looking back for the him since. Back in India, he modelled for more than a dozen television advertisements.

None from Kerala though. ?Male models are badly paid in Kerala.? Rajiv has played the part of villain in the upcoming Malayalam movie ?Trigger? directed by Prasad Yadav.

He has also started work on a Tamil movie.

In the meantime, he completed his dentistry course and started practising at a clinic in Kochi.

?The clinic is run by a friend of mine. So I am able to divide my time between work and modelling.? There have been occasions when some of his younger patients stared at him and asked, ?Have I seen you somewhere?? ?But I tell them ?No chance!?? Being a part of Lakme Fashion Week, the premier fashion event in India, is no small achievement with hundreds of models from all over India vying for it.